With more than 40 years at the top of the regional Mexican music market and a discography boasting better than 50 titles, Los Huracanes del Norte are commonly known as one of música norteña’s most influential groups. Though the group’s musicians originated from the state of Michoacán, it was in San Jose, California that they cultivated their artistic careers. Formed in 1969, the group’s principal members were HeraclioJesús, and Francisco García, who, joined by Asunción Rubalcava, called themselves Los Cuatro del Norte. The band was joined in 1972 by a fourth García brother, Guadalupe, who would go on to write to the song that earned the band their first recording opportunity. They recorded their debut record in 1973, featuring Guadalupe‘s single “Corrido de Daniel Treviño,” which got airplay all over California. With the release of their second album, La Gavilla de Burro Prieto, Los Huracanes del Norte were able to tour throughout the region, playing dance halls as far off as Illinois. The band’s breakthrough came in 1978 with the release of La Musiquera, which earned them their first gold record. Los Huracanes‘ touring territory was extended to include every corner of the U.S. and numerous stops in Mexico and throughout Central America. Subsequent films appearances familiarized audiences throughout the Spanish-speaking world with Los Huracanes and their unique brand of norteño. Through the mid-’90s, regional Mexican music audiences began to swell, and Los Huracanes del Norte regularly played for audiences of 10,000 to 30,000. In 2003 the band celebrated 30 years as one of the genre’s definitive groups. Every one of their original releases from the late ’90s through 2006’s Puro Pa’ Arriba landed a spot on Billboard’s regional Mexican category’s Top Ten and/ or Latin Albums charts. Their singles were also on the boards at airplay, Heatseeker, and later, on numerous streaming lists.